



www.eapaediatrics.eu

9 March 2017

Executive Board

President

Tom Stiris (Norway)

Vice President

Stefano del Torso (Italy)

Secretary General

Adamos Hadjipanayis (Cyprus)

Treasurer

Arunas Valiulis (Lithuania)

Chair of EBP

Jean Christophe Mercier (France)

Chair of Primary Care Council

Jernej Zavrsnik (Slovenia)

Chair of Secondary Care Council

Karoly Illy (The Netherlands)

Chair of Tertiary Care Council

Robert Ross-Russel (UK)

Jean-Claude Juncker – President of the European Commission European Commission Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 200 1049 Brussels Belgium

To President of the European Commission

Considering patient safety, specially for the vulnerable disabled children, the UEMS section European Academy of Paediatrics (EAP) would like to urge the European Commission to provide transparent, harmonized and evidence-based criteria on how member states nominate experts in European Reference Networks.

On behalf of the European Academy of Paediatrics

lan Sha

Professor Tom Stiris,
President of the European Academy of Paediatrics

.....

In copies to:

Vytenis Andriukaitis – Commissioner on Health & Food Safety European Commission Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 200 1049 Brussels Belgium

Till Voigtlander

Chair of the ERN Board of Member States, Austria's representative

European Commission SANTE-EXPERT-GROUP-RARE-DISEASES Directorate—General for Health and Food Safety (SANTE) Unit C1 Health Programme and Chronic Diseases HITEC Building 01/066 L—2920 LUXEMBOURG